MyCouncil®  |  Cart (0)  |  Join  |  Sign In

The 1910 Society Endowment Awards

Founded in 1910, the Boy Scouts of America has grown into something larger and more significant than anyone expected. We honor that special date by presenting The 1910 Society award to donors who make gifts of $25,000 or more to their council endowments. These gifts can be in the form of cash, securities, land, five-year pledges, or other property suitable for a council endowment fund or easily converted to cash.

There are four levels of recognition within The 1910 Society, in honor of four very special individuals who shaped modern-day Scouting:

  • Ernest Thompson Seton - Nationally known artist and naturalist, author of the first official American Scout handbook, and many other books important to Scouting. Seton level membership: $25,000 minimum gift.
  • Daniel Carter Beard - First chairman of the National Court of Honor, National Scout Commissioner, and author of many well-known books and stories for youth. Beard level membership: $100,000 minimum gift.
  • Theodore Roosevelt - First Chief Scout Citizen, first Vice President of the BSA, and President of the United States. Roosevelt level membership: $500,000 minimum gift.
  • Waite Phillips - One of the BSA's first benefactors, and donor to the BSA of almost 130,000 acres of land in New Mexico and what is now Philmont Scout Ranch. Phillips level membership: $1,000,000 and up.
Copyright © 2004-2020 Jayhawk Area Council. All rights reserved
Web Site Powered By ScoutTools®