MyCouncil®  |  Cart (0)  |  Join  |  Sign In

Related Events

Dec 2, 2019
Council Award Nominations Due

Call for Nominations: Silver Beaver, Venturing, Exploring, and District Award of Merit

The Council Advancement Committee is seeking nominations for the following awards for distinguished leadership and service: including the Silver Beaver Award, Whitney M. Young, Jr. Service Award, William H. Spurgeon, III Exploring Award, and the Venturing Leadership Award. Nominations are due December 2nd.

Please consider nominating your Scout leaders, volunteers, and friends in recognition for their service in Scouting in the Jayhawk Area Council. A brief description for each award and a link to each nominating form is provided below:



Silver Beaver Award

The Silver Beaver Award was introduced in 1931 and is a councilā€level distinguished service award of the Boy Scouts of America.  Recipients of this award are registered Scouters who have made an impact on the lives of youth through service given to the council.

Silver Beaver nomination form

List of Previous Silver Beaver Recipients


Whitney M. Young, Jr. Service Award

The Whitney M. Young Jr. Service Award recognizes outstanding service by an adult or an organization for demonstrated involvement in the development and implementation of Scouting opportunities for youth from rural or low-income urban backgrounds.

Whitney Young Award nomination form

William H. Spurgeon, III Exploring Award

The council may present the Spurgeon Award to men and women who have rendered outstanding leadership to the Exploring program either as an Explorer post adult leader or as a district Exploring adult volunteer. 

Spurgeon Award nomination form

Venturing Leadership Award

The Venturing Leadership Award recognizes outstanding leadership and involvement by a youth or adult in a Venturing Crew (youth must be between 14 and 21).

Venturing Award nomination form


Image result for district award of merit

District Award of Merit

The District Award of Merit is a council award presented by districts in the same manner that the Silver Beaver is a national award presented by councils. The award is available to Scouters who render service of an outstanding nature at the district level.

District Award of Merit nomination form


Please mail nomination forms to the Jayhawk Area Council or hand them to your District Executive or Advancement Chair.

Mail to:   Jayhawk Area Council
               ATTN:  (Please Name Award) Selection Committee
              1020 SE Monroe Ave.
              Topeka, KS 66612

Copyright © 2004-2020 Jayhawk Area Council. All rights reserved
Web Site Powered By ScoutTools®