MyCouncil®  |  Cart (0)  |  Join  |  Sign In

Related Events

Nov 14, 2018
Topeka's Top 20 under 40

Jayhawk Area Council Announces 20 Under 40 Honorees

August 14, 2018

For Immediate Release                                                                               

Jayhawk Area Council Announces 2018 Topeka’s Top 20 Under 40 Honorees


On Tuesday, August 14, the Jayhawk Area Council’s Top 20 Under 40 Steering committee Members sought out and surprised 20 individuals revealing they had been selected as a 2018 Topeka’s Top 20 Under 40 Honoree. 

For the last nine years, each spring a call for nominations goes out to the great Topeka community for candidates who’ve shown leadership and community involvement.  Once the nomination period has closed, all nominees receive an invitation to apply. This year, the program received more than 230 nominations and nearly 100 applications.

“It is a privilege to be a part of the selection process for Topeka’s Top 20 under 40.  The caliber of applications made the process extraordinarily difficult this year, but it is certainly the reflection of the bright future of Topeka and our communities with the leadership, passion, and generosity of those being recognized and those that applied,” notes Tracy O’Rourke, Senior Vice President and Chief Strategy Officer of Stormont Vail Health. O’Rourke served as the 2018 Selection Committee Chair.

The following list of 2018 honorees have been chosen from a pool of prominent nominees for their notable accomplishments in professional and personal service to build a stronger Topeka. Evaluation and selection of the nominees was completed by a committee of more than 20 community members.


Brandon Aldridge – Brandon Aldridge Agency, State Farm

Heather Calvert – Auburn Washburn USD #437

Pat Colley – SE2

Vincent Cox – Cavanaugh, Biggs & Lemon, P.A.

Connor England – SmartSave, LLC.

Lindsay Freeman – Advisors Excel

Ty Hysten – Valic Financial Advisors, Inc.

Aaron Jones – City of Topeka

Kim Konecny – Evergy

Katie Koupal – AT&T

Misty Kruger – Topeka Public Schools

Brooke Lennington –  KSNT News

Chad Logan – Logan Business Machines

Niki Maloney – Stormont Vail Health
Adam Rosdahl –  Norsemen Brewing Co.

Michaela Saunders – Greater Topeka Partnership
Amber Stroud –  Department of Veteran Affairs
Adam VanDonge – The White Linen
Laura Vaughn –  Pediatric Smiles
Lonnie Walker, Jr –  FHLBank Topeka



On November 14th, the Jayhawk Area Council will host a banquet to recognize the 2018 honorees at the Ramada Downtown Convention Center.   To make a donation in their honor, purchase a ticket to the event or to become a sponsor visit Topeka’s 20 Under 40 is a premier event benefiting the Jayhawk Area Council Boy Scouts of America.


About Jayhawk Area Council

Headquartered in Topeka, KS, the Jayhawk Area Council, Boy Scouts of America is a 501 (c) 3 not-for-profit organization that has served youth for over 100 years.  Scouting aims to provide unique personal growth opportunities to an ever-increasing number of youth, helping them mature into adults whose values are embodied in the Scout Oath and Law.  The core of this singular movement is focused on fostering development of values-centered lives through character development, personal fitness, citizenship, employability, and service to others.




Copyright © 2004-2019 Jayhawk Area Council. All rights reserved
Web Site Powered By ScoutTools®