MyCouncil®  |  Cart (0)  |  Join  |  Sign In

Share This

Related Events

Feb 10, 2018
Council Awards Banquet

2017 Class of Silver Beaver Has Been Selected

Congratulations to the 2017 Silver Beavers

The Jayhawk Council Silver Beaver Committee is pleased to announce the honorees for the Silver Beaver. Please join us at the Council Recognition Banquet for the presentation of the awards and honorees on February 10, 2018, at Washburn University's Memorial Union.

Silver Beaver Award

This year, three outstanding individuals were selected for their service to the council and their communities. These individuals were nominated by their peers in their community and chosen by a committee of Silver Beaver recipients.

The award recipients are:

Mark Dechand - Pack 170 in Topeka

Mark's work on Religious Emblems, the training of Chaplin's Aids and educating adult leaders about Duty to God and Religous Emblems has been a major factor in increasing the number of youth receiving their religious emblem. His work at the Topeka Correction Facility with the Breaking Barriers program has had a long-reaching impact on the inmates and their families. He completed Wood Badge in 1997, received the Unit Leader Award of Merit in 2015, District Award of Merit in 2002, and the Whitney M Young JR. Service Award in 2016. He was named Volunteer of the Quarter in 2017 for work at the Topeka Correction Facility. 

Jeff Thompson - Troop 165 in Emporia

Jeff has served the Sojadi District and the Jayhawk Area Council for many years as a district member and Scout leader. He achieved the rank of Eagle Scout in 1977, completed Wood Badge in 1978 while achieving the Vigil Honor in the Order of the Arrow in the same year. He was awarded the District Award of Merit in 2011. 

Dan Wadley- Crew 316 in Topeka

Dan is the Advisor for the Venturing Officer's Association. Has spent time as a unit leader for Packs, Troops, and Crews. He has acted as Quartermaster, Assistant Scoutmaster, and Scoutmaster for the NYLT Course from 2014-2018. He completed Powder Horn Instructor Training in 2015 and Wood Badge in 2003. In 1995 he attained the rank of Eagle Scout.



Copyright © 2004-2018 Jayhawk Area Council. All rights reserved
Web Site Powered By ScoutTools®