MyCouncil®  |  Cart (0)  |  Join  |  Sign In

Boy Scouts Announce Distinguished Citizen & Distinguished Corporate Citizen Honorees


TOPEKA, KS (2/20/2020)… The Jayhawk Area Council, Boy Scouts of America has announced they will honor Governor Laura Kelly as 2020 Distinguished Citizens and The Goodyear Tire & Rubber Company as the 2020 Distinguished Corporate Citizen.

The Distinguished Citizen Award honors individuals, families and/or companies for their efforts in making a distinct difference in the fabric of our community. The honoree’s community involvement touches lives and improves the quality of life for all.

“This year’s honorees epitomize the attributes of a Distinguished Citizen and Corporation in our community. Both Goodyear and Governor Kelly’s long-standing service to our community are models of how civic engagement can move a community forward. It is an honor to recognize the Governor of Kansas with this award. We thrilled to recognize Goodyear's 75th Anniversary with this honor. The Jayhawk Area Council is fortunate to have a longstanding relationship with Goodyear that has benefited the youth of our community.” said Nick Xidis, President of the Jayhawk Area Council Board. “It is a privilege to honor them with this distinction.”

“It's truly an honor to receive the 2020 Distinguished Citizen Award from the Jayhawk Area Council of Boy Scouts of America. I firmly support the role of Scouting in helping young people develop as leaders and good citizens, while learning other important life skills. I've always tried to incorporate these important values while in public service as a way to be an effective leader, make a positive difference and contribute to the greater good. That includes my time as Governor as I strive to build a better future for our children and families." – Governor Laura Kelly.


“We are honored to be recognized by such a great organization as the Jayhawk Area Council, Boy Scouts of America,” said Dusty Douglas, Goodyear-Topeka manufacturing director. “We’re proud of the productive partnership we’ve built with the Boy Scouts over the years, and look forward to continuing to work together in the future.”

Community members are invited and encouraged to support this event. To learn how you can be involved or donate, please visit the Distinguished Citizen Dinner Event, Download the Sponsorship Form  or call 785-354-8541. Donations may also be sent to the Jayhawk Area Council at 1020 SE Monroe St. Topeka, KS 66612.


2021 Event Sponsors:

Title Sponsors:

Goodyear Tire & Rubber Co.

Sprout Creative - Video Sponsor

Distinguished Sponsors:

Eagle Sponsors:

Stormont Vail Health

First Class:

Dr. Kent Palmberg
Christopher McGee
Dr. W. Walter Menninger



Tiger Donors ($50-$100):

Wolf Pack Donors ($100 - $250):

Bear Den Donors ($500 - $1,000):

2020 Vice-Chairs -

Jayhawk Area Council Support:
Chris McGee, Vice President of Development, Jayhawk Area Council Board of Directors
Wayne Pancoast, Scout Executive/CEO



    Past Honorees Include:

    2019 - Dr. Stan & Jody Teeter and Westar Energy An Evergy Company
    2018 - Larry & Anita Wolgast
    2017 - Butch Eaton & Jim Klausman - Founders of Midwest Health Management
    2016 - Advisors Excel Founders - Cody Foster, David Callanan, Derek Thompson
    2014 - Anderson Chandler
    2013 - Governor Sam Brownback
    2011 - Dr. Kent Palmberg and Ed Hughes
    2010 - William B. Moore and John Stauffer
    2009 - Jim Parrish and Dr. Walt Menninger
    2008 - Dr. Jerry Farley and Dale Cushinberry
    2007 - Maynard Oliverius and Nancy Perry
    2006 - Governor Kathleen Sebelius
    2005 - Duane Fager
    2004 - Dean Ferrell
    2003 - John C. Dicus and John B. Dicus
    2002 - Governor Bill Graves
    2001 - Steven J. Douglass
    2000 - Robert C. Wheeler and Don Landoll
    1999 - Howard R. Fricke
    1998 - John E. Hayes, Jr.
    1997 - Frank C. Sabatini
    1996 - Howard T. Paul
    1995 - James W. Porter
    1994 - Marjorie C. Schnacke
    1993 - Dean Hodges
    1992 - Joseph A. Thompson
    1991 - Georgia Neese Gray
    1990 - John Hambleton Abrahams
    1989 - Louis B. Falley
    1985 - Anderson Chandler


    Copyright © 2004-2021 Jayhawk Area Council. All rights reserved
    Web Site Powered By ScoutTools®