20/40 Home          Sponsorship          Nominations          Honorees          Steering Committee       News/Events

Topeka’s Top “20 Under 40” 

Topeka’s Top “20 Under 40” award honors members of the Topeka/Shawnee County Community for their commitment and contributions both professionally and personally.  Each spring, members of the greater Topeka community are invited to submit nominations for the “20 Under 40” award and then nominees are sent an invitation to formally apply for the honor.  After the application deadline closes, a selection committee of more than 20 Topeka community leaders spends countless hours reviewing every submission. Each year the program receives more than 200 nominations and over 100 applications, including two letters of recommendation per submission - a new requirement for applicants as of 2014.  The decision to select only 20 honorees out of such a large pool of worthy candidates each year continues to become an increasingly difficult task. 

The 2018 Honorees were recognized at a banquet on Wednesday, November 14th, at the Ramada Downtown Convention Center. To make a donation in their honor visit our Donation Page


2018 Honorees have been announced!

Brandon Aldridge – Brandon Aldridge Agency, State Farm 
Heather Calvert – Auburn Washburn USD #437
Pat Colley – SE2
Vincent Cox – Cavanaugh, Biggs & Lemon, P.A.
Connor England – Entrepreneur
Lindsay Freeman – Advisors Excel
Ty Hysten – Valic Financial Advisors, Inc.
Aaron Jones – City of Topeka
Kim Konecny – Westar an Evergy Company
Katie Koupal – AT&T
Misty Kruger – Topeka Public Schools
Brooke Lennington –  KSNT News
Chad Logan – Logan Business Machines
Niki Maloney – Stormont Vail Health
Adam Rosdahl –  Norsemen Brewing Co.
Michaela Saunders – Community Advocate
Amber Stroud –  Department of Veteran Affairs
Adam VanDonge – The White Linen
Laura Vaughn –  Pediatric Smiles
Lonnie Walker, Jr –  FHLBank Topeka

Click to see a full list of past honorees.



How the Program Works:

Community members and leaders nominate individuals who will be over the age of 18 but under the age of 40 as of May 31st. Nominations will close in late May. Visit our Nominations page for more information on who to nominate.

Once nominated, individuals are invited to apply for the honor. At the time of notification they are also informed of an information session with past honorees and past selection committee members who speak about best practices and offer tips that helped them with their application. 

Applications must be received by the Jayhawk Area Council in late June each year (date varies). 

Applications are then distributed to the Selection Committee members for evaluation. Following a meeting in early August, announcements of the new class of honorees are made the second or third week of August. 

E-mail Erin Aldridge, Development Director, at Erin.Aldridge@scouting.org for more information.